Resist

I found out I was pregnant the day before the inauguration

And I felt the full weight of my privilege as I jumped down from my station

Relegated, domesticated, afraid of what he’s saying

I’ll watch you grow inside me while I’m learning what we’re playing

See it’s a game, plain and simple, and you’ve got to pay your way

The truth won’t set us free, but it might make us pray

Are we all so different that world war 3 isn’t worth stopping?

Not behind our backs, in front of our faces and we’re shopping

If I could buy you anything, I’d buy you a new world

But I can’t, so I’ll fight, and maybe I’ll be heard

 

Dedicated to my baby, name TBD, due September 24, 2017

and to my sisters, Sarah and Shai

and to my mother, Tracy June

Leave a Reply

